You are here:

Partner countries

The Focus of the ABS Initiative's support service to date is on selected African Partner countries: Benin, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda. Lessons learned will inform developments in other countries. Jointly with partners the Initiative developed a roadmap for its national ABS implementation support. These roadmaps are based on the results of country diagnostics on the status quo of ABS in the respective countries. The assessment results are structured along five topics:

  • ABS environment
  • ABS frameworks
  • ABS agreements
  • Participation of indigenous peoples and local communities
  • Way Forward

Each country sub-site for Opens internal link in current windowBenin, Opens internal link in current windowKenya, Opens internal link in current windowSouth Africa and Opens internal link in current windowUganda presents the results of the assessment and the way forward.